Board of Trustees

Keith Preston - NTHT Chair
Keith is a housing consultant and managing director of Sustainability Ltd. Keith has over 30 years experience in social housing in the UK. Since relocating to NZ in 2000, Keith has been instrumental in helping develop several community housing trusts, and has consulted on housing policy with many local authorities as well as central government.
Elton Merrin - Secretary
Elton is an Agri Banker with over 19 years experience with ANZ. He brings a wealth of expertise in financial planning.


Catherine McLellan - Treasurer

Catherine is a Chartered Accountant and Senior Manager with Findex (formerly Crowe Horwath).  She has 15 years’ CA experience in NZ and Australia.


Doug McLearie - Deputy Chair
Doug is a civil engineer with deep experience in project management. He has particular expertise in the management of water and waste water.
Rātapu Hippolite

Rātapu (Ngāti Koata, Ngāti Kuia, Ngāti Toa, Ngai Tahu) is Kaiwhakahaere Kaipakihi (Business Support Manager) for Te Piki Oranga. He worked for many years in IT and business development for BNZ and Westpac. 

Paul Russell
Paul is a civil engineer experienced in managing and administering construction contracts. He spent several years training project managers and has managed a large consulting office and mentored staff for over ten years. Paul formerly chaired the Nelson Central School Board of Trustees for five years.

Susan Coleman

Susan is Chief Executive of Girl Guiding NZ. Previously, she was Executive Manager Community Services with Nelson City Council. Susan oversaw the operation of NCC’s Community Housing for nine years, thus understands well the nature and challenges of those properties and tenants. Susan has a Masters in Management (Massey University).

Nick Laing

Nick is a lawyer with Duncan Cotterill, serving as an Associate in the litigation and dispute resolution team. Nick’s experience helps NTHT solve complex problems including addressing risk and legal questions. Nick has a Master of Laws (Auckland University).


Carrie Mozena - NTHT Director
Carrie is one of our founding Trustees; employed as Director since 2015. Carrie has a strong background in leadership, community development and not-for-profit management. Carrie served four years on the Community Housing Aotearoa (CHA) National Council as Treasurer. 

Contact Info

Open Hours:

Mon-Thurs 9am-5pm




03 546 9568

0800 266 325



Trafalgar House, 329 Trafalgar Square East, Nelson (corner of Selwyn Place and Trafalgar Square East) we're between Atelier Gallery and SASH


Postal address:

PO Box 140

Nelson 7040